The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan (1989)

The Joy Luck Club offers a new perspective of what the American dream means. This book tells the story of a group of four Chinese mothers and their Chinese-American daughters who gather periodically to play majhong, a traditional Chinese board game. The novel is divided into four main sections. Each part narrates the story of one of the mothers and her daughter, depicting the sacrifices they had to make in order to get to America and the cultural differences both generations must face due to their different upbringings.

Here you have an in-depth analysis of the novel!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s