Interview

The following interview consist of 4 different questions which were answered by students from the English Major at Universidad Católica de Chile.

  1. Would you say studying this major was your dream?
  2. Is studying this major helping you in any way to get closer to your dream?
  3. What are you going to do once you graduate?
  4. What is your dream job?

Student 1:

  1. Yes. Ever since I was a little girl I knew I liked English and reading. I entered this major because I wanted to study literature but now I know for sure that Linguistics is my thing.

  2. Yes. My dream is to know all I can about languages and to keep studying this until I die, so yes, as long as I’m studying languages I’m living the dream.

  3. Everything! I’ll probably start by getting a teaching degree but after that I’ll like to keep on studying linguistics and maybe carry out some research.

  4. Editing dictionaries seems kind of fun to me.

Student 2:

  1. Not really. I’ve never had a dream so I couldn’t say this was it.

  2. No, since I don’t actually have a dream.

  3. Probably study translation.

  4. Being an astronaut. But, you know, since I’m in this major I don’t know how I would achieve something like that hahaha.

Student 3:

  1. Yes. I worked really hard to get in here.

  2. Yes! I spent all of my senior year at school daydreaming about studying this

  3. I’ll probably study something related to education.

  4. Teaching during the day and being a forensic linguist at night. I have lots of dream jobs hahaha

Student 4:

  1. No. But I did not have a precise dream beyond being happy and probably teaching.

  2. Yes. Definetly.

  3. Probably get a teaching degree and hopefully do some further studying abroad.

  4. Teaching something I’m passionate about at university.

Student 5:

  1. Not really. I didn’t know what I wanted to study.

  2. Yes. Even thought I didn’t exactly planned to study this, it’s become my dream and I’m enjoying it so far.

  3. I hope to get involve in the publishing buisiness.

  4. Working in a publishing house.

Student 6:

  1. Kind of… At first I thought about entering the Hispanics major but after thinking it for a while I decided to apply to this major instead.

  2. Yes. Even though I’ve always wanted to study something related to language now I’m realising I like literature a bit more than linguistics but I’m still living the dream by being in this major.

  3. I’m not so sure.

  4. My dream job would be one that enables me to travel a lot around the world.

 

Leave a Reply

